Photobucket - Video and Image Hosting

"You were born together and together you shall be forevermore...
But let there be spaces in your togetherness.
And let the winds of the heavens dance between you."


Trying to stay sane
8:13 p.m. & 2007-02-04

Things here have been for the most part- insane! I am really trying to not have a nervous breakdown. LOL!

The twins keep getting sick. Their doctor informed me that they are not to be anywhere near a sick person with so much as a sniffle. They have had pneumonia three times since November, two viral infections and numerous colds. And to top it all off, Spencer was diagnosed with a cranial deformation. His head has a severe flat spot. So we have had to take him to a neurologist for treatment. We have to take him the 15th to Grand Rapid's for a CAT scan to see if it is a birth defect. It's very rare for this form to be a birth defect, but he did come out that way- so they're checking. If it happened from birth, it means that the plates in his head were fused from birth and there will be no easy way to treat it. He will require a surgery. Neither Shawn or I are happy at the prospect of a surgery where they will have to cut into his skull to reshape his head. It's merely cosmetic the Dr. said and won't in any way hinder his development or what not. So I guess we'll see what happens, but I am thinking that if it requires surgery, we'll probably pass. If it is not the true form of the diagnosis (something I can barely pronounce let alone spell here) then it will be able to be treated with a head shaping helmet. So we're rooting for the helmet.

The twins otherwise are doing well. They both are starting to talk, Meady more so than Spence. She says Dada a LOT! He says it too, but much more infrequently and much softer. He is very soft spoken. When he starts to jabber, it's almost under his breath and you really have to strain to hear it whereas Miss Baby (As Shawn has taken to nicknaming her) is much louder and boisterous. They are definately as different as night and day!

I had my first ultra sound on Baby # 3. It is only one baby. I will admit, I was a bit disappointed. If I had twins again, I would definately be done. But Shawn and I planned for four kids. So we'll see. The baby was normal size and had a strong, healthy heartbeat which out our minds at ease. I am still considered as high risk due to the miscarriage before the twins and having had gastric bypass. We already know the day this baby will be born since I will be having a C-section again. The date is scheduled for August 20th provided that I don't go into pre-term labor. We have baby names picked out. Noah Jacob for a boy and Chloe Helene for a girl. But my baby sister Gena just called me this morning and told me that she too is pregnant. Chloe was the name she picked for this baby long ago thinking that she wouldn't have a girl as they weren't planning on another baby. So I'll ahve to see what she's having and if I can still use Chloe.

Things have been hectic and busy. Due to all the snow that has been dumped on us here in the great white north, our living room has flooded and the new wood flooring Shawn installed has been ruined. I was devastated. Right now, we're working on damage control and will have to look into replacing it in the spring and fixing the roof. The tub is broke. It won;t drain and we can't afford the damn plummer. Plus, we have standing water under our place so we can't get under it to get to the pipes. Talk about stressful.

But we just keep taking things one day at a time, problem by problem and laughing about it each night before we go to bed and thanking God that it wasn't worse. We're just trying to stay sane.

Well, the twins are awake and ready for diapers and a feeding. So I have to sign off now. Thanks for tuning in!

Always,
Sara

Yesterday's Diapers & Powder Fresh

birthday news and more - 2007-07-08
Happy Irish Day! - 2007-03-18
All is going well - 2007-02-23
Trying to stay sane - 2007-02-04
Merry Christmas - 2006-12-22